Zoom meeting screen shot with student scholarship winners.

Peekskill Rotary Club awards yearly scholarship awards via zoom! This past May and June, during Don Rizzo’s Presidency of the Peekskill Rotary Club in its’ hundredth year, scholarships were given to students with a virtual zoom call. The scholarships are presented to deserving students by the Peekskill Rotary Club every year.

The Academic and Fellowship Scholarships, which go to the highest academic achiever and students who display leadership, were presented by Denis Sternberg, and went to Amaavi Miriyagalla and Sophoe Sax, respectively, from Walter Panas High School. From Hendrick Hudson High School, James Reilly, Valedictorian, received the Academic Scholarship and Matthew Klimek, Salutatorian, received the Fellowship Scholarship.  Additionally, from Peekskill High School, Sarai Sales, Valedictorian, won the Academic Award, and the Fellowship Award went to Samantha Saca.

The two recipients of the Bertoline Business Scholarship Award, which goes to students with a commitment to a career in business as well as their academic achievements, was presented by Dean DiPierro, went to William Usticke from Peekskill High School and Heather Riefenhauser from Hendrick Hudson High School.

The Robert Flower Scholarship, for students of Hispanic and Latino heritage, in memory of Robert Flower, a Peekskill Rotarian and former city councilman, was presented by Cathy Johansen, and went to Janet Gomez of Peekskill High School and Jahyra Speights of Hendrick Hudson High School.

The Fontana Award, a music scholarship given in honor of Dr.Joseph B. Fontana, a dentist and violinist, and a member of Peekskill Rotary Club and Rotary District Govenor, was given to William Abraham for playing string bass and piano.

The Athletic Scholarship, given each year to deserving athletes, as selected by the high school athletic departments, are Duglas Coc-Jerez, and Yeymily Conde Lopez, of Peekskill High School. From Hendrick Hudson High School the athletic awards went to Caitlin Weimar and Michael Tosi.

The LaPolla Scholarship, which emphasizes the development of young people and is a lasting memorial to Rotarian Raymond LaPolla, was presented by Joe Hooke to Samantha Saca.

The Daniel Sadofsky Scholarship, in memory of Daniel Sadofsky, past Peekskill Rotary President and leading area businessman, went to Inmay Weinstein of Peekskill High School, presented by Suzane Sadofsky.

Finally, the Aaron Manzer Scholarship, for students going to trade or vocational school, was presented by Chappy Manzer and went to Sarai Sales.